Terrell County ISD

Home of the Eagles - Excellence Is Our Expectation



What is a District of Innovation?

The District of Innovation concept, passed by the 84th Legislative Session in <u>House Bill 1842</u>, gives traditional independent school districts most of the flexibilities available to Texas' open-enrollment charter schools. To access these flexibilities, a school district must adopt an innovation plan as set forth in Texas Education Code, Chapter 12A.

What exemptions does Terrell County ISD intend to pursue?

TCISD will apply for exemptions of the following legal requirements:

- 1. **Teacher Certification (DK Legal and Local):** This exemption would provide TCISD with the flexibility to hire professionals with the skills that fit the needs within the district.
- 2. Uniform school start date (EB Legal): This exemption would provide TCISD with the flexibility needed to address the instructional needs of the students while addressing the professional development needs of the district staff.
- 3. Length of School Day (EB Legal): This exemption would provide TCISD with flexibility with the required 420 minutes of instruction to encompass a day of instruction.

Summary of Process

- Conduct Public Hearing concerning District of Innovation Resolution.
- TCISD Board consider to Adopt a Resolution
- Decision to decline or appoint a District of Innovation Committee
- Develop Strategic Plan
- Provide Plan for Review (Public/District of Innovation Team/TEA)
- District of Innovation Team votes on Strategic Plan
- TCISD Board votes on Strategic Plan

SCHOOL BOARD PASSED A RESOLUTION ON 2/15/17 TO PROCEED WITH PLANNING COMMITTEE AND DISTRICT OF INNOVATION PLAN.

HB 1842: District of Innovation

 HB 1842 provides public independent school districts with the opportunity to design a strategic plan according to the needs and resources of our district while maximizing local control.

District of Innovation Committee Members:

Amanda Magallan: Superintendent

Sam Magallan: CBC

Virginia Garza: School Counselor

Tanna Lowrance: Elementary Teacher

Tami Carrasco: Elementary/JH Teacher

Christine Johnson: Secondary Teacher

Maje Arthur: Special Education Teacher

Mary Alice Rodriguez: PEIMS Coordinator

Kristy Billings: Parent/Business Office

Letty Arrerondo: Parent

Shelly Cleveland: Community Representative